Sure, I could go into a treatise on how to write and, perhaps, some day I will.  Right now, however, let’s distill writing into two basic principles:

One:  The shortest route between your beginning and ending is a straight line; and

Two:  K.I.S.S.    Keep it simple, stupid.  Writers love subtext…they want their novel to be about more than it is in on the surface, so they go for stories within stories.  Let’s face it….a lot of us aren’t really talented enough to pull that one off, so my advice is to stick to the story you’ve got.  Keep it simple.  The last thing you want to hear is:  “I don’t get it.”   Many a thriller has gone as flat as an overcooked soufflé because they lose the premise of the story and the reader’s attention span.

Thanks for stopping by.  Hope you come back real soon.

